section européenne Lycée VINCI à AMBOISE

section européenne Lycée VINCI à AMBOISE

The Nobel Peace Prize 2016

The Nobel Peace Prize 2016

Juan Manuel Santos

Juan Manuel Santos



The Nobel Peace Prize 2016 was awarded to Juan Manuel Santos .



The 2016 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos for his efforts to end his country's long-running civil war with FARC rebels.

The Nobel committee made the announcement in Oslo on Friday october 7 th , five days after voters in Colombia narrowly rejected a peace deal that Santos' government had spent years negotiating.
In its citation, the committee said it had awarded Santos the prize for "his resolute efforts to bring the country's more than 50-year-long civil war to an end, a war that has cost the lives of at least 220,000 Colombians and displaced close to six million people."
It added: "The award should also be seen as a tribute to the Colombian people who, despite great hardships and abuses, have not given up hope of a just peace, and to all the parties who have contributed to the peace process."
Santos said he accepted the prize "on behalf of all Colombians, especially the millions of victims of this conflict which we have suffered for more than 50 years."
The decision to give the prize to President Juan Manuel Santos may revive hopes for the agreement with the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia, or FARC, with whom the country has been waging the last major guerrilla struggle in Latin America.

Why Colombia’s Peace Deal With the FARC Failed


Colombians defied opinion polls on Sunday by voting against a peace agreement to end 52 years of war with the country’s largest rebel group, the FARC, or the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia.

The deal had been widely expected to pass. Low voter turnout and an impassioned opposition to the deal, led by the nation’s former president, resulted in a defeat.

Demands for Justice

The peace deal was always a tug of war between peace and justice. The demand for justice won. Many Colombians felt that the deal was too lenient on the rebels, as it would have allowed the majority of fighters to walk away from the war without being punished.

 Nobel peace prize winners  :

2007 Al Gore ( USA )

2008  I P C C ( CLimate  change )


2010 Liu Xiaobo  ( CHINA )

2011 ELLEN JOHNSON liberia  /
Takwa Kulkar ( YEMEN)


2013  Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)

2014  Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafza

2015 National Dialogue Quartet


0 Poster un commentaire

Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 66 autres membres