section européenne Lycée VINCI à AMBOISE

section européenne Lycée VINCI à AMBOISE

Sharing experiences abroad : my stay in Canada

 Here  is an article from  Lise : a student in terminale euro  who stayed  in Canada

I went to Canada for 3 months for an exchange. I left France  on 15th August after a long trip of 7 hours of flight we arrived to Toronto at an awfully nice hotel. We went to Niagara falls it was awesome !! I spend two days there with all the French students.
We took another plane to go to Vancouver where I met my new family  :they were so nice.
I was very tired the first days with the jet lag and it's tiring to speak English all day long  .
It was strange at the beginning but I met a lot of wonderful people :  everybody was very nice with me and after 1 week I felt as if i was at home.
We went one week at Whisler ( where were the last winter olympics games ). It was enjoyable and beautiful. We travelled a lot and went to Vancouver island for surfing,  it was very cool.
My first days at school were quite difficult because I didn't understand a lot... Schools in Canada are very different from the ones in France
school starts at 8:30 am and finishes at 2:50pm. I chose 8 classes : history, psychology, sports, cooking, leadership, English, drama and design.
Each day , I attended 4 different classes. The teachers were very cool, friendly and open minded. Almost all the time after school I met my friends to the beach or to a coffee and after I worked out.
 Canadian food is very fatty but was so nice. I cooked a lot with my host family.
This experience was for me a great life experience because I was far from my  birthplace.
I learnt a lot about myself and on the others.
I won't forget my Canadian life and I really hope can get back one day !
 
 LISE


07/03/2013
0 Poster un commentaire

Inscrivez-vous au blog

Soyez prévenu par email des prochaines mises à jour

Rejoignez les 88 autres membres